Phoenix

Obliterated
destroyed
unrecognizable
heart macerated
to a bloody pulp
somewhere in a back alley
left to mold and rot to dust
amongst the rats and trash
where they left me
loves of my paled past
having sucked me dry
that love marrow in me
until nothing remained
but a frame
from it hanging my corpse
technically alive
but clinically dead

until the light
your divine light
arrives from above
scooping my soul
up into your hands
gently reshaping what’s left
of me into something again
you breathe fire into my cells
igniting life in my bones
blood fills cavernous voids
in my heart like never before
seeking your blue sky
I unfurl my once lifeless soul
from past lives’ ashes I fly
using wings you provide

~ by Emily Clapper

3.16.16

“Phoenix” ~ AUDIO voice  recording on Soundcloud!

2 thoughts on “Phoenix

Speak Your Heart...

