Red Room

meet me in the red room
the one with velvet walls
purple pillows in the parlor
invite the stolen path

sneak upstairs to solace
away from other eyes
except the ones that stare
at you, those ones are mine

find me on the blanket
waiting for your sign
to unlock hidden treasure
dropped from high by the divine

wrap me in your longing limbs
tell me there’s no time
to wait for what presents itself
lest we find ourselves denied

press your eager mouth to mine
with depth like a deep sea dive
exploring unknown territory
I open my ocean wide

there in that red velvet room
away from prying eyes
you make me let you make me yours
the one thing I will not fight

“Red Room” ~ AUDIO voice recording on SoundCloud

~ by Emily Clapper

3.2.16

image1-11

18 thoughts on “Red Room

    1. Really tickled you were attracted to this line. It is my favorite…I like to play with words…and not always the fancy ones, but the every day ones that can be just as powerful when arranged the right ways…

      Liked by 1 person

  1. I loved the poem. I must admit that I kept thinking of the “Red Room of Pain” from 50 Shades (though I am not a fan). Also, it is so nice to hear your voice.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. And yes, I agree about 50 Shades. And while it wasn’t my inspiration, I can see it being the image the brain wants to make while reading the poem. πŸ™‚ That movie was a mockery of what the real bdsm community is like…plus…just plain old bad acting. I live in Seattle and was embarrassed that they used our city to set the scene for that movie. Ah well.

      Like

Speak Your Heart...

