Main Course

the smell of you lingers on my neck
my inhales draw you
I left you long ago
you stained me
with your scent
the stench of lies
and disordered noise
of promises presented as future fact
that my desperate hands
clung on to with fierce
hope to see dreams
as realized truth
your inflated ego’s need
to prove to yourself your worth
through the destruction of my heart
I handed it to you on silver plate
fork, knife, and napkin, too
for your fangs to feast
serrated slicing so
to make me feed
your empty soul
the main course I am,
pass dessert, take me whole
nothing is sacred but your hunger
table for one, me served, vampiric ravage

 

“Main Course” ~ AUDIO voice recording on SoundCloud

~ by Emily Clapper

4.22.16

image1-20

2 thoughts on “Main Course

Speak Your Heart...

