Paint The Light ~ NY poem #1 & graffiti gallery

step by step the sidewalk calls
me forth along long unset paths
random roaming of virgin self
in land of plenty, in land of wealth

but ‘round the corner curved,
shocks of artistic color bursts
on walls, gates, doors, the paint
words, faces, bubbled names

plastered art, mixed with spray
telling stories to those who stay
to linger long enough in city’s rush
always flowing, moving time lapse

for while money is what makes us turn
not all have luxury, access to their own
expression unique to shake up the street
challenge the idea of what beauty we seek

all I see is gorgeous design on dullness,
otherwise blank, a slate waiting for us
to light it alive, in rainbows of thoughts
opening eyes to genius amongst us

waiting in the dark
to paint the light

 

~ by Emily C.

4.24.16

*********************************************

While on my trip to NYC recently, I noticed I was taking a large amount of pictures of the graffiti and murals I would happen upon on my walk. It surprised me in its magnitude, its beauty, its integral part of the vibrance of the city. I decided to collect a gallery and share it here with you.

When I came home to Seattle, I was honestly disappointed in our graffiti artists. That is how much it defined my trip, and how much I think it defines NYC’s spirit. It may be a big city, a dirty one, a rich one, and a poor one…but it finds ways to beautify when everyone else is sound asleep.



  
 


  
  
  



















  
  

  
  
  

11 thoughts on “Paint The Light ~ NY poem #1 & graffiti gallery

      1. Of course! My sister took me once to this place for breakfast (she would remember the name, but I don’t at the moment) and I had this omelet with spinach and cream cheese. It sounds kind of gross, but it was SO delicious. I still think about it… 🙂 I’m going to read more of your NY posts as time allows… very interested in your experiences and thoughts.

        Liked by 1 person

Speak Your Heart...

