Tick Tock

Darkness descending
eyes wide open
circadian rhythm disrupt
night takes over day takes over night

the clock mocks me

makes me insane with its precision
its persistent pattern of punctuality
tracking the earth’s teasing turn
drifting toward edge of sanity

mind rolls along

where thoughts collide in confusion
in muddled waking nightmares
reliving loves and lives past
tortured over present

future looms like heavy fog

stripping down to bones and skin
heated by restless tossing
kick the sheets off, stare blank
the ceiling hallucinating scenes

torturing my mind

the thin line between here and there
reality and dream, dimensions merge
somewhere in the netherworlds
dancing with ghosts I’ve seen

alive in life, and in death

I see myself amongst them
carried over the edge

briefly…free

jolt…awake

tick

tock

tick

tock

morning of day awaits

but morning of night

…it never left.

~ by Emily Clapper

5.4.16

*******************

Poem topic: “Insomnia” as requested by Anthony in my post asking for open topic suggestions! Thanks, Anthony! I’ve been to this place many times, as you can tell. 🙂

image1-29

21 thoughts on “Tick Tock

  1. You captured this well and I enjoyed the rhythmic quality of your voice. I must admit that I suffer from this insomnia far too often. My mind is a storm of thoughts, images and stories.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m speechless… This is the best written representation of what insomnia is like for me. That I have ever read. You are truly gifted. It actually made me sweat with anguish. Just thinking about tonight.

    Liked by 1 person

Speak Your Heart...

