The Cave

 

Someone dimmed the lights

I cannot see

my flame doused

my spirit cleaved

I hear laughter

but it’s not mine

my heart has died

my soul resigned

to fate cursed

to lines rehearsed

to repeat stories

and patterned verse

joy sucked clean

heat has chilled

my veins run cold

my head is filled

with nothing now

just brain matter

numbed by

senseless chatter

thoughts amok

running, fucked

up with circles

of endless

nought

the sun has
lost her way
today

the cave
stole her
from light
of day

 

~ Emily Clapper

5.8.16

image1-22

23 thoughts on “The Cave

  1. Fantastic lines:

    joy sucked clean

    heat has chilled

    my veins run cold

    my head is filled

    with nothing now

    just brain matter

    numbed by

    senseless chatter

    I listen to the audio and your voice is a soothing & deep natural of wonder and darkness. Which by the way, I love. πŸ™‚

    Brilliant poem and wow!

    Liked by 1 person

Speak Your Heart...

