Kowtow

I will not kowtow to demands

of others who know not my life at hand

who judge from a distance what they cannot see

who take their words and sling them free

to hate with power that festers inside

their souls of vitriolic ignorance cannot hide

for long before their true colors show

of contempt for those different than they know

for fear of what is not known or understood

can rot the heart until all is no longer good

into realm of destruction, nothing left standing

taking down the innocent with their lack of compassion

an emptiness that eats their cores until all that’s left

is disdain for all that shines color with heft

the only losers are their very selves

for hate cannot bring me down

as love lifts me up

out of reach

of their

nasty

speech

 

~ Emily Clapper

 

5.13.16

image1-31

41 thoughts on “Kowtow

  1. Although this is an excellent piece of writing. I can’t help but think some shitbag is the reason for it. You are a amazing woman with a beautiful heart. And you probably already know what I’d say. Fuck those cock suckers! πŸ˜‰ OK. Now goodnight. ❀

    Liked by 2 people

      1. It’s twilight here Em ! I’m in Mumbai city on the west coast of India. So, Goodmorning to you a lovely lady on the west coast (albeit on the other end of the globe) πŸ˜‰ πŸ˜›

        Liked by 2 people

      2. Okay, it’s possible you told me and I forgot. But I have a few WP from India and at least one other from Mumbai, I think! Would love to visit myself someday. πŸ™πŸΌ

        Liked by 2 people

      3. Well Em, you’re always welcome to visit Mumbai. I would love to meet you someday for sure ! If I get an opportunity, Seattle is now certainly on my list of places to visit. πŸ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

      1. I’m sure I will! I’ll be checking it out when I’m more conscious. 3 hours of sleep is a tough state to comprehend words in… πŸ™πŸΌπŸ˜ŠπŸŒ™

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Oh yay! Another Englander! I’m really going to need to start putting pins on a map for people here so I can keep track of all this globalness, and so I don’t keep repeatedly asking. πŸ™πŸΌπŸ’œ Seattle, Washington, USA. The Emerald City, Jet City, home to Starbucks, Microsoft, Boeing, Amazon. And The Space Needle, of course.

        Liked by 1 person

      3. Nah there’s one next to him and apparently they “spend their whole lives apart except in mating season”
        So I think he was like, an alcoholic or smoker and they’ve taken his stuff away

        Liked by 1 person

Speak Your Heart...

