Diurnal / Nocturnal

dark light
shattered sight
yin yang
battered fight
between the shades
glows in spades
the morning throws
the night in throes
of sensuality reeling
all five of them feeling
in darkness cold
our hands we hold
trace fingers along
the body’s song
pausing to hear
the breath held near
my ear with heat
exhale complete
shivers of lust
prickle skin just
until every part freezes
and breath ceases
waiting to sense
where the hand goes next
in the dark nocturnal
chilly long night
while the sphere turns
toward the light
diurnal reveals
the lover steals
me far away to
revel in more
displays of ravishing
shades of ecstasy

 

~ by Emily Clapper

3.4.16

image1-44

25 thoughts on “Diurnal / Nocturnal

  1. I wont even attempt to give some sort of literary interpretation. But I can tell you that I felt this in a way previously experienced with passionate love making and heartfelt exchanges with a best friend. If that makes any sense. I love the duality of it.
    You are truly amazing. Thank you for sharing.

    Liked by 3 people

  2. Poets ought to know (and be able to do) better than exhale expletives in response to another’s work, but a response beyond that stumps me here. Simply, truthfully, it’s one of the best poems I’ve ever read. Anthony is right. You are amazing. Yet, I think we are only hearing your warm-up voice. In the future, daughters of English professors will still be called Emily, but I’m not sure it will still be after Emily D.

    Liked by 2 people

      1. Oh Em, you’re such a sweetheart! You are supposed to melt just like sugar does in coffee. As you are what adds sweetness with your writing to this bitter reality of life πŸ‘ŒπŸ˜Š

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Your sense of rhythm is exquisite, Emily. The sensual, smooth flow as I read in my head was delicious but hearing you read it aloud was intoxicating. This poem rocks completely and I think you are incredibly talented. A poem to be proud of. Are you happy if I reblog? Great stuff, clever poet πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Wow, thanks, Ryan πŸ™‚ Yes, this one was a stream of consciousness kind of thing…even I was surprised with what came out of my head. Sometimes I wonder who’s in control. Ha! And I’d be honored by your reblog. Thank you! ❀

      Liked by 1 person

Speak Your Heart...

