I Am Human

I don’t have the answers
I struggle with worthiness
I fumble with weakness
I doubt my strengths
I am not perfect
I make mistakes
I am human
I hit the wrong note
I feel ugly at times
I am learning to accept love
I am learning to own my gifts
I am not always graceful
I trip and fall over words
I make a fool of myself
I trust too easily
I wonder why I’m here
I don’t know where I’m going
I get depressed
I fall down
I say the wrong thing
I am misunderstood
I am judged from a distance
I am more than what’s here
I fear
I question everything
I question myself
I have so much to learn
I have feelings
I hide

I throw myself out there
I live, anyway

I try
I fail

I am human

 

~ Emily Clapper

5.26.16

image1-53

13 thoughts on “I Am Human

  1. Wonderful poem Em ! This poem is about everything, about what it means to be human. Also reminds me of the Michael Caine dialogue from Batman Begins, “Why do we fall sir? So that we can learn to pick ourselves up.” Cheers 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Speak Your Heart...

