Unwelcome Guest

Flu, my unwelcome guest
has settled in bones, in muscles, in chest
has thrown my tummy upside down
has made me dizzy like a spinning clown

I’ve popped the pills, the tinctures, the supplements
I’ve rested, and napped, and slept like crap
I’ve read, I’ve written, I’ve watched, I’ve vegged
I’ve gone crazy with restlessness, watched the world go past

I’m done missing parties, missing girl dates, and fun
I’m sick of being sick and not working out or going for a run
I’m tired of slowed cognition messing with my head
I’m ready to get back to my active happy self instead

So tonight, alone at home, I ordered pizza, salad and stayed
I wrote more poetry, I relaxed, I contemplated my crazy life
I thought about this year and how shitty it’s been
aside from NYC and WordPress, I’ve been injured or sick

So tonight, alone at home, after eating pizza and salad,
I made a batch of chocolate chip cookies, for me myself and I
And I’ll write some more poetry, and I’ll contemplate my life
And maybe release some energy, find an endorphin high

It’s my sick party, and I’ll play how I want to, if you catch my drift

I fucking deserve it.

 

~ Emily Clapper

5.29.16

34 thoughts on “Unwelcome Guest

    1. Thanks, dear O…this morning is proving to be yet another level deeper of this evil flu. I may be losing my voice altogether. Boy, I hit the jackpot, apparently. Too bad I can’t return it. 🙏🏼💜

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks, A! I am up too early Seattle time (5:50am) as I’m not sleeping well lately, obviously, but I think I may sneak a cookie and then go back to sleep. 😉🍪🍪🍪

      Liked by 1 person

  1. My god this is amazing. I love your voice so much, the hairs in the back of my neck got up. I wish i had the voice to read my work. I wish someone like you could give them life. Wow i just can’t get over of how powerful your voice is. wow

    Liked by 1 person

Speak Your Heart...

