Connection

You know what it’s like? What it’s like to be a creative, passionate person, one with endless ideas, thoughts, passions, one who needs to constantly create, be challenged, share, communicate…and to finally find a place where people appreciate that part of you?

Yeah, perhaps you do.  Remember when your realized how amazing that feeling was? Maybe you still feel this every day. Maybe you don’t, and that’s fine. I…I feel this every time I log in here (who am I kidding…I never log out). It’s like…finding my tribe.

There are people close to me in my life to whom I could read my poetry to and they may appreciate that I am passionate, but they don’t share my passion. And that’s okay. Each to his/her own. And while a part of me dies when I sense lack of connection with people who are supposed to be intimate with me emotionally or otherwise…I never expect everything from everyone in my life. It must come from a variety of sources. (This is also why I am poly.)

I honestly don’t know what I would do if I couldn’t share my words with you here.  I think my other relationships would drastically suffer without this outlet. I wonder why I waited so long to commit to this part of my expression. But, that’s neither here nor there, well…because I am here now and that’s what matters.

I believe in vulnerability; I believe there is very little that can compare to the level of courageousness it takes to be vulnerable, to exist bravely.  I believe in wholeheartedness. I don’t merely believe in it, I live it, and always have. It’s risky, it hurts, it scares people, it’s who I am and when it works…it leads to the most blissful connections full of amazing spine-tingling moments. If you haven’t watched BrenΓ© Brown’s video The Power of Vulnerability, please watch it below, it is only 20 minutes – but the most valuable 20 minutes, and prepare to have your mind-blown and your world changed, maybe not overnight…but it will happen.

Thank you for enriching my life and being active participants in this part of my creative life.  I feel you surrounding me 24 hours a day.

You’re my tribe.

Namaste, Em

58 thoughts on “Connection

  1. You are more than welcome and believe me i know your feeling. On my daily life i am ignore by everyone and i ignore them as well but this place has giving me something that i thought i could never had. I can share everything in here and nobody judge me. I love this place, i only wish i could have done this sooner. To write is my life. If i could do it 24 7 i would but sometimes my body stops me, i guess it needs a rest. lol Anyway, you are an amazing person and i only wish to have people like you close to me, close to the plase i live in so i could talk for hours and share our poems but for now this page will do. I love you friend.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks for your thoughts! Yes, I hear you on writing 24/7. Sleep is critical for creation, and yet sometimes it’s hard when your brain wants to create through the night! Keep up the writing! I enjoy reading it. Love you, too, M. πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I have in mind a couple of serious of poems on warriors. I want to write about them but in a way like, i am them on that period. Wish me luck. πŸ™‚ by the way did i told you how in love i am with your voice. I am sure i have but i wanted to tell you again. πŸ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Awesome, M! I’ll look forward to the warrior poems. Also, email me when you have a poem you’d like me to record for you! πŸ™‚ And thank you…I’ll never tire of hearing that you enjoy my voice. It’s just weird because I’ve never liked hearing it myself…but I guess no one really likes to hear their own voice. So, I’ll have to take everyone else’s word for it! πŸ˜‰ ❀

        Liked by 1 person

    1. Ah, all squishy! Thanks, A. I’m happy to have found you, or you found me, actually, so thank you! πŸ™‚ I look forward to reading more of your amazing words, too. And someday, I’ll ring your doorbell when I get up to BC again. πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

      1. …my other blog just kind of started because I needed some where to “talk” so to speak. I didn’t really realize at the time but it really ended up being a two year journey of vulnerability. The story behind that for you:)

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Oh wow, yes. Good stuff. I look forward to checking it out! I’ve always been vulnerable, sometimes too much so, but I understand the struggle it can be coming from the other side. I see people have breakthroughs, and it’s a beautiful thing. ❀

        Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks, love. My warmth for you grows every day. So glad to have met you. πŸ™‚ I have no plans to retreat. But, you know where to find me if I ever do go quiet. ❀ See you on the morrow.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Love this post. Oh… no one offline reads a word I write… even if I ask them to read. Without this place, I would still be writing for no one but me. Well, I guess I am still writing for me, but knowing anyone else is also reading and enjoying and understanding… well, that’s kind of a miracle for me… and I don’t know, now, how I could do this without it (or how I did it before…)…

    Liked by 2 people

    1. I hear you, Sandra! I’m still having my mind blown by this whole phenomenon, seeing as how I honestly just came here to put my poetry in one spot…had no idea there would be this many people reading it. Haha. Mind-boggling. But, it’s also encouraged me to keep writing where I may have just stopped. I have written dozens of poems that would not have existed, I truly believe.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Yes – I came here to try to build courage to share my fiction… and to say whatever the hell I wanted without having to worry about what anyone would think! I thought maybe I’d get some feedback from 4 or 5 people… maybe 10 if I was really lucky… now I’m at almost 500. Mind-blowing. And oh, yes, I have definitely written words I never would have written if I hadn’t come here. In fact, I never wrote poetry at all until I started here…

        Liked by 1 person

  3. I know exactly what you mean. Everyone who is here can appreciate you sharing your thoughts and craft. I’ve tried to share my works, successfully, but mostly unsuccessfully in my non-WP life and it’s like night and day. WP people get it. Non-creative people (actually some creative) don’t fully get it or appreciate the expression.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Indeed, M. It’s an amazing community, and it’s making me a better writer/poet just knowing people appreciate my output, as well as myself being enriched by the high quality of everyone else’s genius! πŸ™‚ The rest of the world…well…they’re missing out.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. You read our minds and the write it down.. Thanks Emily it feels good to know I’m not a freak!!
    And yes I’ve seen the video below and it’s very telling of who we are and how we should allow ourselves to be…

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Someone once said, “Writing is a thing we do, insulated inside ourselves, private and secretive, that gains the power to transform only when we share it with others.”

    But I know what you mean. I can’t recount the number of times I’ve gotten the “Oh. You’re writing another story? Big whoop.” look from friends when I try to talk about my writing. I suppose I’ve gotten old enough (and wise enough) not to be too offended by that, understanding that not everyone is as enlightened as us writers (!), and to realize that there is an audience for it (like here with like-minded folk)!

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Wise you are indeed, J! And yeah, sleep has sucked lately as I’m fighting the flu. So I plan to nap later. Thanks for the poemspeak last night, that was fun. πŸ™πŸΌπŸ’œ

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Aw, shit! I’m sorry to hear you’re sick, Em. But you wrecked when you were less than 100%. What’s going to happen when you’re completely well?

        … oh, my!

        Hurry! Rest up and get well! πŸ˜‰

        Liked by 1 person

      3. Yes! I just posted something I wrote at a writing retreat years ago about that. I find it to be very true. The edge of consciousness, dawn, dusk, the in between times and states of mind. Very fertile soil.

        Liked by 1 person

  6. I agree that WordPress offers an amazingly supportive community. There are so many people expressing themselves, daring to be creative. And you can find support for those creative works here, wonderfully kind words to keep you going.

    Liked by 1 person

Speak Your Heart...

