Dead & Gone

When I am dead and gone from here
no one can say I didn’t live life
it can’t be said I didn’t try
I won’t have a short obituary

My heart splayed out for consumption
I’ve let it fall time and time again
opened it, ripped it inside out
shown my all and then some

I’ve done that knowing the risk
I’ve accepted that love isn’t easy
I’ve embraced that pain is required
to love wholeheartedly on fire

Not an opportunity wasted
not a connection denied
not a heart left untouched
mine or otherwise

You can’t call me a quitter
you can’t call me a coward
I face down my demons
I’ve accepted others’

The darkness won’t scare me
I will never hide from fear
It’s part of what drives me
to make more than what’s here

When I am dead and gone from here
there will be skid marks to my grave
a life fully lived, passionately paved
I’ll go 100 miles per hour,

nothing left to save

 

~ Emily Clapper

6.3.16

38 thoughts on “Dead & Gone

      1. Thanks, Z! It’s a big part of who I am and impacts how I live my life on a daily basis, and I enjoy guiding others in the practice, too. 🙏🏼 I’ve been teaching for 6 years.

        Liked by 1 person

    1. Well, that’s the plan, but life makes no promises, and so neither can I. 🙏🏼💜😊 And awesome! Glad to inspire. I’ll expect a monthly report on how that’s going (kidding…maybe). Thanks, S!

      Liked by 1 person

Speak Your Heart...

