A Love Worth Longing

Lift me up
I am falling
sinking deep
hunters calling
darkness creeps
fears appalling
faces peek
’round tree trunks falling
spooking me
to endless running
away from these
forests growing
too fast to see
past to clearing
where you will be
your pain withstanding
waiting to keep
open to loving
my heart is free
but tenderizing
emotions peaked
in your sensualizing
words that steep
in my soul succumbing
to all that reaps

a love worth longing

 

~ by Emily Clapper

4.28.16

 

 

40 thoughts on “A Love Worth Longing

  1. This is wonderful, Emily!
    I especially like the last lines:

    in your sensualizing
    words that steep
    in my soul succumbing
    to all that reaps

    I love the way that flows together. ❀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks so much, Eric! I seem to have the best poems slip out when slipping into or out of sleep. That half-conscious stream… Not the most convenient for writing but hey…whatever works, I guess. πŸ˜‰πŸ’œ

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Sipping my honey lavender latte at my favorite cafe, pondering poetry, and then it’s a run around my lake, running stairs, and a high intensity interval lap swim. I hope to be awake for part of it, and then no doubt collapse. πŸ’ͺ🏻

        Like

      2. honey lavender latte sounds so interesting. I am not a coffee drinker, which is maybe why I hate mornings, lol. Enjoy your workout! That sounds intense. I am sore form working out yesterday but it was nothing like that.

        Liked by 1 person

      3. I’m more of a chai drinker than coffee, but I’m trying to burn off millions of NYC calories and needed a little extra kick today. It’s so tasty. Love lavender! And I’m a personal trainer so I kinda have to live the life of one. One reason it helps to make it your job…then you have to rep what you sell. And it’s fun. 😊

        Like

      4. True. I have a trainer (it’s a gift to myself and basically the only money I spend, lol) and I love him. He is so enthusiastic and fun. I think you really have to have the personality for it. I would go in like, wtf, stop whining asshole. And he’s like, Get it girl! LOL

        Liked by 1 person

      5. That’s so awesome!! The best money you can spend. Even I have a trainer, trainers need them, too. Saw mine yesterday, so I’m feeling it. And I have crazy strength…even after two months of injury, illness, and travel I could still press 120# on the dumbbell chest press for 12 reps. My record is 150# for 6 reps, so it likely still stands. Tell your trainer that and see what his reaction is, haha! It’s also a curse, though. Somedays I don’t want to lift as heavy as my body requires. Ah well, there are worse problems. πŸ’ͺπŸ»πŸ‘ŠπŸ»

        Like

      6. I’m not sure what the dumbbell chest press is. Like two weights of 60 each? Ha ha, I think I do 30 each. Or maybe 25. I am just now getting to where James is all excited because I’m strong, lol.
        I agree, it’s the best money I’ve ever spent. I feel great and strong and awesome! πŸ˜€

        Liked by 1 person

      7. Yes, two 60s. My record on the incline in two 80s. I’m considering donating my muscle tissue to science. Lol. Keep it up!! You never know your strength unless you nurture it. I started with 20s after all. πŸ˜‰

        Liked by 1 person

Speak Your Heart...

