Serenade

notes slip along telephone wires

black and seductive melody

smoothly dancing to my ears

the voice on the line

singing sweetly

words divine

that lull me dangerously

to the brink of surrender

each breath between

a moment too long

without you near

resistance futile

the sound is clear

the message true

you lure me in to you

your words determined

pursuing my heart

that finds its time in yours

like a metronome striking

beat, tapping feet

compulsively falling in line

without a defense this time

just releasing to it, to you —

serenading me

 

~ by Emily Clapper

6.7.16

 

image1-67

27 thoughts on “Serenade

  1. Hearing your passionate, deep voice. I want to swim inside that mind of yours and see all the beautiful things that I envision.

    without you near

    resistance futile

    the sound is clear

    the message true

    This spoke to me in many ways. I know exactly the feeling and what its like not having someone near because all else is meaningless. I hope I did interpret this poem right. Love it Emily. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

Speak Your Heart...

