Ghost of You

Your ghost haunts my heart
I feel the doors creaking apart
sense the cold spots prickling
the edges slowly trickling
blood from leaks in this haunted
jaunt, what used to be warm froze
when you turned away from love
when I burned too hot to hold
you dropped me and ran
where…somewhere, away
you thought you were not
ready for me, for my glaring light
that shined on your scars
with unabashed compassion
kissing them with words
embracing you tenderly
in the arms of my own pain
in my heart of adhesions
torn and healed and repeat
but ready to try…one more time
you question your worthiness
as I question mine
but it is not up to you to tell me
what’s worth my time
I am the judge of that, thank you
and you were
and are, and will be
if I have any say
but you aren’t here to hear me
only your ghost in residence
ethereal reality I have to bear
forevermore, whether you care

two failed souls uniting

but only one stayed

~ Emily Clapper

6.9.16

24 thoughts on “Ghost of You

  1. I relate a lot to these lines:

    you thought you were not
    ready for me, for my glaring light
    that shined on your scars
    with unabashed compassion
    kissing them with words
    embracing you tenderly
    in the arms of my own pain

    So surreal and I picture every word and sentence to its fullest sequence of beauty and passion.

    A deep and so pure poem. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks, Charlie, truly. 🙏🏼💜Yes, this one is pure and true to my heart. I’m glad it transmits that way. I’ll be getting to your poem shortly, been a bit chaotic lately. Sending hugs! 😊

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Sad one Emily. Seems he was to be afraid to be loved for all of him, even his scars. He wanted to try again, but then he hurt her and then he was gone. Now it’s only her. Only her soul remains. Sorrowful that he could never let the light in.

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Thank you Emily. I’m an English Major from university, and I took a lot of poetry so I learned to read it well. I’ve been on disability since my first year working, from depression and severe fatigue. I would be happy to write and make a career of some sort with it. I do take your comment as a compliment though. Thank you 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

Speak Your Heart...

