The Knowing Of You

Just the knowing of you
makes me smile
makes my heart pump
blood to places hidden
makes my steps lighter
my laugh louder
my all a little more me
grateful for each little thing

Just the knowing of you
is a blessing bestowed
on a fractured heart
taken and thrown
away too many times
before you picked it up
in your fractured heart
cradling mine gently
risking something more

Just the knowing of you
is worth this existence
in this moment in time
this present place
my haven of peace
my saving grace
the voice I hear

your “that’s my girl”
softly loving me near

 

~ Emily Clapper

5.17.16

image1-41

50 thoughts on “The Knowing Of You

  1. A truly beautiful and heartfelt piece. I can definitely see the honesty and compassion in your words. The inspiration for this is a very lucky individual indeed…Once again you amaze me. ❤

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Terribly kind thing to say!
      I’m still in bed, awake too early
      But having friends like you here
      Makes it harder to go back to sleep
      Not complaining for where would I be
      Without this morning revelry? 😊 ☀️

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Makes taking it off that much more exciting! I bet you appreciate normal clothes more than most. 😊 I’m lucky I get to wear yoga clothes all the time (trainer/yoga instructor/mom). Hope you get relief from it soon! 👔

        Liked by 1 person

Speak Your Heart...

