This River

A cup of clear river water in my hands
I saw my rippling reflection above the sands
sipped cold crisp comfort
with feverish abandon
mine eyes stared back, questions
trickled down the stream
the current sending them into dreams
where I could only dare to imagine
someday to be answered
the whys and hows, and who am ‘I’s
and where are you and why goodbye…

This river keeps those secrets
I will never know
yet keeps me alive, also
base survival for unknowns
we are born to live
and in living, will die
whether dreams fulfilled
dreams dead
no answers
only questions
nevertheless

the human will…
will fight

and so I sip

this river

tonight

 

~ Emily Clapper

6.15.16

16 thoughts on “This River

Speak Your Heart...

