Moors & Moats

In the moors of England, rolling gold in spring
marshes bearing birds, doing their singing thing
light hazy through the high clouds hanging above
dappling ground with dots of speckled sunshine love

A moat surrounds castle grounds, circling its guarded gates
only opening for expected guests, arriving for its feasts
this day like all others, grand preparations ensue
the flags are flying high, with the crests of old and new

In the castle kitchen, food is passionately prepared
the men had brought back pheasant, and quail to share
the lady and her maids spend time adorning hall and hair
with flowers they had plucked from hills afar and fair

The turrets rise above it all, the vast view befalls on land
eyes that watch like sentries, set in stone protecting stone
those boulders built to claim that land, by lords of history
bloodlines set in earthly rock, generations of generations

No invaders dare approach or risk their ultimate demise
for behind those turrets lie catapults, ready to launch the skies
with beastly surprise and hefty pounding of enemies below
to tempt or test this fortress would bring on a deathly blow

For today it is purely festive merriment, joy set free in feast
the table set with bountiful meat, fruit, bread and mead
laughter at the sight of it, at stories told the round
the dancing will be next, a sunset romp,
the lute and flute, the sound…

In spring, in the moors of England,

where the castle stands its ground.

~ Emily Clapper

6.15.16

***************

Poem request topic: “Castle”, requested by Sandra at WhatSandraThinks! Β Thanks, Sandra! I was feeling nostalgic for something I’ve never experienced, except for visiting the beautiful castles of the Rhine River in Germany many years ago. Β They are an ominous and beautiful presence! I hope you enjoy your poem. πŸ™‚

44 thoughts on “Moors & Moats

    1. Ah, lovely! No greater compliment to illicit sound and vision where it does not exist. πŸ˜‰ And come to think of it…I used to play flute…maybe I should dust it off again. Ha!

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks, C! Well, I’ve never been to either and so I can’t compare, but I’ve seen pics of both and Scotland has a certain ferocity I find appealing. I’ll keep you posted when I finally get there. I’d love a tour. 😊

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Please do I can think of a few rather lovely ‘excursions’, I’ve literally just been told about a Robert Burns museum in my own town hidden away in a private house. I’ve not been yet but is sounds magical. Scottish castles do have this stoic grandure to them, build to intimidate and bring comfort those those who dwell within.

        Liked by 1 person

Speak Your Heart...

