Father’s Day

10401033_31350642378_5892_n
(Yours truly…age 3)

Happy Father’s Day
to dads near and far away
to those in past, present
and future soon-to-be
those who have struggled
and those who have thrived

Happy Father’s Day
to dads who can’t be with their kids
but think about them every day
make that extra effort from away
who cry at night for child’s sight
and dream of better days

Happy Father’s Day
to full-time dads
who forgo their jobs for aprons
for messy homes of play
for creative adventures
to lands afar, in the living room fort

Happy Father’s Day
to working dads who come home
after long days straight to play
for bedtime duty and story time
for relieving mom of stress
to let her decompress

Happy Father’s Day
to two-dad homes
who have given their love
to an adopted one
that needed parents
for love is love is love

Happy Father’s Day
to the soldier on duty
far away in another country
fighting for his children’s freedom
for a better world, for peace
sacrificing his life

Happy Father’s Day
to my dad, my hero
who taught me so much
my personal dictionary
my Shakespearean inspiration
the English professor for without whom

I would not be the poet

the writer,

the woman

I am today

~ Emily Clapper

6.19.16

21 thoughts on “Father’s Day

  1. This piece is one of my favorites, Em you made me cry so much this is so damm deep. Those lines it me, they hit me so hard. My god you are so amazing. Thank you for being you

    “Happy Father’s Day
    to dads who can’t be with their kids
    but think about them every day
    make that extra effort from away
    who cry at night for child’s sight
    and dream of better days”

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thought I replied to this, but I see I had not. I am so moved, M. You honor me deeply with your words. I’m touched that my poem had the effect it did on you. Sending lots of hugs and love your way!! ❤ 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Speak Your Heart...

