Salvation

 

I’ve been craving music therapy. And recently, Mr. Modigliani posted a video by Gabrielle Aplin, her song Salvation. It struck me deeply, and being the creative soul I am, my internal voice was screaming to play it on the piano. I asked his permission to give it a go, and he was gracious enough to let me share my version. Thank, you, M…you inspired me.

This is the first time I’ve shared my piano playing with you all, as I’ve been obsessed with harmonium for a while. It is indeed me playing live. And it’s only a small sample of what I can do. I hope to share more over time. It takes much longer to get a proper full recording of a song on piano versus harmonium. But, I’ll try to give you a bit of both now and then.

**************

“Salvation” ~ lyrics

You are the avalanche
One world away
My make believing
While I’m wide awake

Just a trick of light
To bring me back around again
Those wild eyes
A psychedelic silhouette

I never meant to fall for you but I
Was buried underneath and
All that I could see was white
My salvation
My, my
My salvation
My, my

You are the snowstorm
I’m purified
The darkest fairytale
In the dead of night

Let the band play out
As I’m making my way home again
Glorious we transcend
Into a psychedelic silhouette

I never meant to fall for you but I
Was buried underneath and
All that I could see was white
My salvation
My, my
My salvation
My, my
My salvation
My, my
My salvation
My, my

My salvation
My, my
My salvation
My, my
My salvation
My, my
My salvation
My, my”

46 thoughts on “Salvation

    1. I’ve been told I should start composing my own. I haven’t yet. But, perhaps the more I’m told this, the more likely it will happen. πŸ˜‰ I mean, I write poetry, and I’m a musician…one would think I could combine the two. Hehe! And thank you so much! I appreciate your taking the time to listen!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Always! I love keeping up with all the wonderful writing here and finding people who can astound my expectations. You do that for ma y of us! You’ve got a creative light in you, a sparkling talent my dear and it shan’t be ignored. Certainly not by me!!! πŸ’–

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Well I certainly hope it’s a terrific day, let’s hope those simple words start you off well. I’m rather glad I stumbled on you as well. My life is certainly far richer seeing your face pop up on my feed with a elegant display of wordplay πŸ˜ŠπŸ’–

        Liked by 1 person

  1. This is a beautiful post, both in the feeling, the piano playing and your singing. I am glad I acted upon Eric’s incitation and followed you. I had also seen one or two posts of yours on feu Kosmogonic’s website but did not follow you before Eric really convinced me with his joint post with your contribution.
    You have a beautiful voice and visibly a beautiful soul. Do not waste it on what does not lift it upward for what does not lift you upwards will eventually cause other people not to be helped in being uplifted. We all have a mission in life and that is more important than physical commitment or obsessions. Keep up the good uplifting work, even the dark work if it brings about questions to the reader and allows others or yourself to grow but my humble advice if you will take it is that one should not waste time with beings of void. Be well.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Geetha, I’m sorry, for some reason I did not see this wonderful comment of yours! I’m so glad I checked back here, I would hate to have given you the wrong impression! Thank you so much for taking the time to say hello and leave such touching words. I am glad that you followed me and enjoy my writing. I am humbled and honored by your great advice. And I look forward to reading more of your amazing work as well! Namaste πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Thank you, Geetha! And I would never ignore a comment, so if I haven’t replied in a reasonable time, I likely didn’t see it. Sometimes WP doesn’t alert me to all of them. 😊 You can call me Em, by the way! I’m in Seattle. What part of the world are you located?

        Liked by 1 person

      1. Lots going on, but pretty good! About to plant some new plants…got my work ahead of me! Raspberries, red and golden this year, too. Here’s hoping I don’t kill them. πŸ˜‰

        Liked by 1 person

Speak Your Heart...

