Peekaboo

Switch off, brain on
light of day leaves,
dark of night comes
lurking in long shadows
lie unseen spectres
camouflaged clear
blending in to walls near
I squint my eyes
try to discern
indiscernible blurs
they morph, contort
black on black
makes my heart attack
with pounding fear
unknowns leer
eyes I feel on my neck
like laser beams
burning holes
through me
turn around…

nothing there

but black again

I swear…I saw

…something

It plays with me…
like a coy child
hide-and-seeking
bury my pallid face
under sheer sheets
eyes play peekaboo
the pops and creaks
make me squeak
with fright of night
unsettled soul
stirs, no sleep
awake till dawn of day
shadows slip far away
slithering slinkily back
from whence they came
for now, safe
until dark comes again

and they rap on my door

once more…

 

~ by Emily Clapper

5.6.16

***********************

Poem topic: “Fear of the dark” as requested by Sandra on my post asking for open topic suggestions! Thanks, Sandra! Hope you like it! 🙂

24 thoughts on “Peekaboo

  1. The title, the mention of child’s play..it creates an eerie atmosphere around the poem (thanks to the horror films these days based around children lol) really well done! 👍 – Michelle

    Liked by 1 person

Speak Your Heart...

