Palpitations

A trick of the heart
a jump at the thought
a spike at your sight
a sink at your sound

You make my heart pound
as I ponder your touch
as I think of our lust
as I wish for it now…

With a breath, heart skips
to my throat from my chest
my diaphragm a trampoline
my ribs its flying trapeze

You alone have this effect
like the circus ringmaster
flipping my love, to and fro
dizzying speed comes and goes

Long for the day
for you to tame
my heart as yours
with love’s whispers

Soothe me sweet
hush my howl
hold me tight
heart now light

And when it’s night
at your command,
flip my switch
make me twitch

All
over
again

~ Emily Clapper

7.9.16

 

******************

Poem request for “palpitations” by SixEighty.  Having had my share of these in my life, romance and non-romance related…I know this feeling well. 🙂 Thanks for the request, Six, I hope you like it.

image1-70

32 thoughts on “Palpitations

  1. I love the rhythmic descriptions it builds those very feelings in my chest and throws images of one person who encites those very feelings.
    Absolutely wonderful poem. I certainly hope you have a few of the romantic kind very soon…and I really hope the same for me. Haha!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, dear Cameron. 🙂 Ah, glad it could provoke an image (whose, I wonder), I hope it was a good one. And I wish you some romantic palpitations as well. Those Scottish girls need to get their acts together. ❤

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Always a pleasure! It certainly does that, of course she has been the starring influence in many a poem of mine. One could say a special kind of tormentor.
        I hope the Scottish girls listen, they’ve been quite remiss so far.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Oh, bummer. I’ve been there. Well…not there in your bedroom in Scotland. But, sleepless in Seattle. 😉 Here’s a big one… {{{{squueeeeeeezzzzze}}}}

        Liked by 1 person

Speak Your Heart...

