Saturn & The Stardust Rope

saturn-aurora-100923-02

Fourteen thousand feet above sea level,
Hawaiian dusk has fallen on Mauna Kea
like a shooting star,
galaxy overhead
blankets the earth in glitter

Air is thin, dizzying my mind
with thoughts of you, I spy
through the telescope, silvery Saturn
and the rings, remembering

your message to me, “Join me here…”

One by one the stars descend,
a step ladder to heaven
I begin to ascend,
leaving the ground climbing the sky
I seek your playground this balmy night

A rope of stardust
throws itself my way
hanging on I pull up against gravity
seeking you in cosmic riptides,
speed unchecked

Landing on the swirling rings,
releasing my hold, free
there you are
dancing on the satellites,
Saturn’s halo

With a smile on your face,
you take my hand, we dive
swimming in our celestial pool,
I try to catch you
you pretend to resist, briefly…
and then succumb

wrapping up in the glow
of our own world

I cut the stardust rope to Earth

 

~ Emily Clapper

7.11.16

image1-79.JPG

37 thoughts on “Saturn & The Stardust Rope

      1. Yes, yes it is. People have no idea how crucial balance is to functioning until it’s gone. I’ve recovered before, I just don’t know how long this flare up will last, and that’s the sucky part. At least I have poetry and you guys. 😉

        Liked by 1 person

      2. I forget to put this under my poem, but I was stargazing on the top of Mauna Kea in September of 2014, and saw Saturn (& Andromeda) with my own two eyes. And so the inspiration. I’ll never forget it. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      3. I had wondered when I read it:) Magnificent memory and experience. Funny when I was in Maui there was a full moon over the water one night, also one of those visuals I will also never forget. Very special.

        Liked by 1 person

      1. Beautiful! Did you know there is a hexagonal weather formations at Saturn’s north pole and an the same in an oval shape at the south pole…crazy shit! I love it!

        Liked by 1 person

      2. I just read that last night actually! Can’t comprehend…this universe is some crazy shit. I took astronomy in college…got to measure galaxies and chart the moon. Still have my books. I feel like cracking them open now… I wasn’t great with the astronomical equations, but I love the topic.

        Liked by 1 person

      3. Look at you…measuring galaxies and such. 😍😆 I am more attracted to the nights sky’s more esoteric interpretation. Like the meaning and role the celestial bodies played in ancient culture and finding their subconscious symbolism even in the present.

        Liked by 1 person

      4. Oh I’m the same, hence why I did not excel at the equations. While I appreciate the science, ’cause it’s pretty freaking awesome stuff, if they had a class for just the esoteric interpretation, I would have been the first one registered. 😉

        Liked by 1 person

      5. You already know I find you to be the most intelligent, beautiful, accepting woman I have ever encountered. If I could have it my way I would carry you near my heart always…ok there…sheesh😶

        Liked by 1 person

      6. Thank you…loss for words. Hence the emojis. 🙏🏼 You have a huge heart yourself, FYI. 💜 I just tried driving…not sure I should have. I can’t stand being cooped up, though…sigh. Let’s hope I make it home alive. Oh…and X, you would have loved the planetarium at the UW, and they also have a huge pendulum in constant motion. Only students have access to those perks which is probably a big reason why I took the class. 😉

        Liked by 1 person

      1. Will get there in a bit, C. I should give you the heads up I’m dealing with a flare up of migraine induced vertigo this whole week and so I have to dose my screen time a little differently. I may be a bit slower to respond, but it’s not personal. I don’t know when this will go away, but I’m trying to not stare at screens longer than necessary. Thanks! 🙏🏼💜

        Like

Speak Your Heart...

