Flight

β€˜Neath a speckled toadstool
born a faerie of flight
wings wet and wrinkled
eyes searching afright

She poked a toe into the mud
to test this wild earth
to see if she could handle it
in all its mocking mirth

Warily she crawled forth
on hands and knees, dainty
and shook the dewdrops
from her sails, spread widely

Spying nearest ray of light
she sought its warmth out
her wings drying quickly
color of rainbow no doubt

Croak, a curious frog spoke
leaping near her sunspot
jolted by surprise, she squeaked
her first new friend found

Offering his back to her
she stepped on with care
and with a hop, wings took off

launched up into forest air

~ Emily Clapper

7.18.16

(Photos: Emily Clapper, 10/2015, Seattle. Amanita Muscaria mushrooms, beautiful but hallucinogenic.)

*wrote the poem first, then remembered I had these pics I took last year

20 thoughts on “Flight

      1. Still dealing with the migraine vertigo…it’s like being hungover without drinking. I hope it will subside shortly, it’s hard to live like this. But, I’ve recovered before, just don’t know how long it will take this time. Eyes don’t like screens much still, so I have to be careful. Thanks for the thoughts! I’m trying to think positive. πŸ™πŸΌπŸ’œ

        Liked by 1 person

      2. My girlfriend gets Migraine’s from time to time. Not cool at all. I too, remember getting a migraine once. The feeling sucks and I just felt like poking my eyes out. Still positive my friend. I will stay positive with you. πŸ™‚

        Like

    1. Thanks so much! πŸ™πŸΌπŸ˜Š Yes, those are pretty jaw dropping mushrooms to see in person in the middle of an urban lake park. I always worry someone’s dog is going to nibble on them and trip out! Ha!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I’m surprised they were allowed to grow so big and not nabbed by some teens. Awesome subjects for photography. It’s stuff like this that makes me what to invest in a high end camera and go out exploring

        Liked by 1 person

Speak Your Heart...

