Wild Horses ~ a true story.

IMG_3414

(Photography by Emily Clapper, 10/2014, Waipio Valley, Big Island, Hawaii)

The day was tropical blue
the air was sugarcane sweet
the road was deadly steep
but I had a Jeep

I dared the ride, 25% grade
steepest road in the country
but made it far down
into mystical Waipio Valley

The Valley of the Kings
the history rich
King Kamehameha I
his childhood home

5 miles deep, 1 mile wide
politically, religiously storied
taro farmers and waterfalls
black sand crescent beach

Like Indiana Jones, I drove
over mammoth puddled potholes
almost stuck once or twice
but made it down to shore

Parked along the beach
played in the sand, marveling
the peace, the cliffs, the waves
the energy strong with spirit

But, when I went back to leave
I paused sensing something
to my right…six wild horses
sauntered toward the water

Their manes blowing free
gazes toward the sea
an ancient knowing
I cannot explain

But one…one turned toward me
with a look that saw through
straight to my soul
beyond powerful

I froze

On a burial site they stood
themselves perhaps old souls
the secrets they knew
the wild freedom
I may never know

A respectful bow, I left
their home, but left part of me
my soul forever touched

hoping someday

I’ll ride free

a wild horse

through

eternity

~ Emily Clapper

8.3.16

********

Almost two years ago, I had the opportunity to explore the Big Island of Hawaii all by myself after finishing a 2 week Yoga intensive certification. I had 4 days with a Jeep and an AirBnB.  I packed it full, as I do, and maximized my experience. I drove around the island in my Jeep, hitting some pretty incredible locations. This was one of them, Waipio Valley. It is indeed a 25% grade steep road to the valley floor and only all-wheel drive vehicles are allowed to attempt it.  I was nervous, but I did it.

I was treated to some amazing moments down there, once I traversed the terribly rough roads.  But, the wild horses…took my breath away.

The pictures are real, they were taken by me that day.
Enjoy the slideshow below.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

14 thoughts on “Wild Horses ~ a true story.

  1. Oh, that totally rocks! Not a soul around? Sweetest of sweetnesses! Hawaii is on my wander list, but I keep going in the other direction…. One of these days. Thanks for the photo sharing and the accompanying words!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks, Meg! There were a few people scattered but I had to squint to see them, I was for the most part alone where I was. Many people choose to view it from the viewpoint at the top since the drive is quite treacherous, or they don’t have all-wheel drive. Going back up was just as scary! I thought the Jeep was going to flip head over heels a couple times. 😬 But, it was so worth it. And thanks for reading! I may write a few more on Hawaii… You definitely need to wander there someday! 🌺🌴

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Oh!!!! This is fabulous. I’ve seen the run free here once and it nearly took away my ability to breathe. I cried. I was overwhelmed by their power and freedom. For the briefest of moments, I longed to be a wild Mustang.

    Thank you for sharing ❤️

    Liked by 1 person

  3. What a brilliant poetic journey
    Oh those photos are astounding! That beach looks stunning and I love the horses. I’d totally be chasing the for hours taking photos.
    Looks and sounds like you had an amazing time.
    The intensive certification is this where you started or was this an advances course. Regardless Hawaii is a fantastic backdrop for yoga!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks, Cameron! It was amazing. I wish I could have spent all day there but I was on my way around the north part of the island to watch the Ironman World Championship in Kona, which is another story I need to tell. 😊 And the yoga was a 200 Hr RYT cert, although I’d already been teaching for years, it was just a formality. And it was the perfect place for yoga!

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Hawaii is one of our favorite places to vacation. All of the islands are mystical in their own ways, but my hubby likes the Big Island the best. I have not seen the horses there, but have seen the wild horses on the Outer Banks of North Carolina and they are magnificent, too! Great post, Em!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks, Diane 🙏🏼😊 Yes, I have to agree the Big Island is a favorite. I’ve been to Oahu and Kauai as well, but the variety on the Big Island is stunning. And wow, wild horses in NC must be magical. 💜

      Liked by 1 person

Speak Your Heart...

