The Right Turn

He ran his fingers through her hair
I watched from behind their car…
the convertible, her blonde hair blown
tenderly with care he stroked
I saw her eyes react with love
an electric connection I envy

So long since I’ve been touched
the way he touched her –
stomach sinking with absence
with an ironic aloneness
a realization of missing
of not entirely existing

The cynic in me has given up
the romantic…ever hopeful
that it’s never too late
there is hope for my fate
there is passion that awaits

my destiny to take

the right turn

~ Emily Clapper

8.6.16

6 thoughts on “The Right Turn

Speak Your Heart...

