Time After Time (& update)

So many memories of this song. Another 80s classic. I loved it then, and as an adult, I can appreciate its beauty now.  Cyndi Lauper sure had a way with style and as a musician goes, underrated, I think.

It felt good to sing and play a bit today.  I hope you enjoy it.

A health update below for those in the know…

***

As for me, I had a surprisingly better feeling day yesterday which gives me hope that my body is finally going the right direction with this migraine/vertigo/neuro stuff.  Sleep has been hit or miss and restless at times.  The chest pains I was having have mostly subsided, and I am having less faint feeling episodes.  I’m taking those as good signs.  Still on blood pressure meds until everything calms down.

Today, I’m not feeling entirely as energetic as yesterday, but still not as bad as I was.  So, fingers crossed in this next week or two I will be gradually crawling out. I just have to try and not overdo things when I do start feeling more normal.

As for my father, he is scheduled in a few weeks to have surgery to remove his right kidney that has what has turned out to be a cancerous tumor.  The good thing is it seems to not have spread. So it will come out with the kidney, and it will mostly be a matter of going through the discomfort and pain of surgery and recovery, but as cancer goes, he seems to have been fortunate.  Also fortunate that he had the cellulitis that put him in the hospital in the first place (which has healed now) or we wouldn’t have known about the cancer.

In the meantime, I haven’t been able to teach my weekly Yoga class at {insert Big Name Gym} and due to a bunch of misunderstandings and poor communication on their part, auto-termination kicked in for not teaching for a full month.  We’re going to talk again in September and see how I’m feeling, but part of me thinks it’s time for me to let them go and move on.  I’ve been there for 7 years and have taught hundreds of classes, cycle and yoga, and I feel like I’ve outgrown them.  Sometimes you’ve got to know when to call it, and where there is less than compassionate support when going through a health issue, it’s hard to feel motivated to come back when I’m well.

I have my own business license and I can do private yoga, or find a private studio to teach when I’m better.  But, right now, they are not worth the stress on my health. My health comes first.

And you know what makes me happy? Writing. And the community here. And maybe…maybe perhaps this is where I need to be spending my energy. Maybe perhaps I need to find out how publishing works.  I feel like it’s something I need to do to honor my dad.  And with your support, I believe it’s possible.

Life. Never ceases to keep one guessing.

Stay healthy, friends. I love you guys.

Namaste, Em

17 thoughts on “Time After Time (& update)

    1. Thank you, Simon. Life is all about change, isn’t it. And yes…who knows where it will all lead. Trying to remain open to new paths and let go of old remnants. 🙂 Did you listen to the song?

      Liked by 1 person

  1. It’s weird to hear this on harmonium it’s sort of haunting. I like it!

    Glad to hear everything is going well with your dad that’s really good news. Recovery will still be annoying but it sounds like everything’s going the right way.

    I’m sorry to hear about everything at work but from the sounds of it you’ve got a tonne of options a head of you.
    publishing yes yes yes! You’ve certainly got the talent!
    You just keep looking after yourself. One day at a time and you’ll get there. Nothings going to keep you done long the world wouldn’t allow it, it’s just giving other people a chance to shine before you come back and blow them all away 😄💜

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, very much! Yes, I suppose it is a bit haunting. I’m glad you liked it. And thanks for all the love and support on all fronts. Things will eventually settle down, it’s just a pain in the ass to get through it. Day by day, it’s all one can do. 🙂 ❤

      Liked by 1 person

Speak Your Heart...

