Crazy Idea

So, random idea. While reading my latest issue of The New Yorker and stumbling across the poems in it, I thought to myself…maybe I should submit some poems…

So I did some research. Can’t be anything already published including online. So I’d have to create their limit of 6 poems without any feedback and then submit.

I mean…what’s the worst that could happen, they most likely won’t publish them. But if I don’t try I won’t know.

Anyhoo. I’ve never submitted anything I’ve written anywhere before. But, may as well go big. Life is short. Made ever more prominent by the fact I’m turning 40 in a few weeks. Ahem.

Thoughts? Anyone ever attempted submitting to The New Yorker?

51 thoughts on “Crazy Idea

      1. Oh yeah, totally. I think you should go for it if you want to! I’m cheering you on. If you are allowed to have someone read them beforehand, and you’d like some feedback, email me anytime.

        Liked by 1 person

      1. It would be up to the particular publisher’s guidelines, but in general I’d guess that it would be considered “published.” Personally, I don’t consider anything I put on my blog to be published there, as I believe that publication involves an editorial process. But many publications do consider blog posts to be publications.

        Liked by 1 person

      1. I would also expect rejection and any acceptance would be a nice surprise. Well done on all your success! And yes, I imagine it is the life of a published poet, ebb and flow. 😊

        Like

      1. I’ll let you know if I make the submissions! Of course, they only notify you if you’ve been accepted, so that could be an interesting wait. Do you think it’d be cheating if I posted them for feedback and then took them down before submission? Hmm…πŸ˜‰ And love you, too!!

        Liked by 1 person

      2. I honestly don’t see why it would. Isn’t that like having an editor look over your work before publishing?

        Love you so much! Hope you are finally on the track to full health.

        Liked by 1 person

  1. You should definitely try. If you succeed, you succeed. If you don’t, you’ve at least tried. As you say, life is short. I’ve never submitted any of my poems anywhere before, though I’ve not felt much reason to. I enjoy collecting them as documentation of my changing moods and thoughts throughout the years. That is about where my poetry ends. I hope, if it interests you, that you do give it a shot though, and I wish you luck as well.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Yes, it is so hard not to feel the urge to post everything you write. I’m trying save some work in case I decide to submit to a larger publication. Good luck with your submissions. ❀ BTW, have you thought about Self-publishing? You'll have to remove a lot of your online work though. And it's difficult to get people to buy your book without spending money.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Stop lying to your readers! Your turning 30 Em! This number dyslexia is getting worse. Yes your words are pretty but you have to pay attention to your numbers as well!!! πŸ˜„

    Fantastic idea, GET IT DONE!!!
    Only good can come of this. Can I preorder a signed copy when you get a piece published there?

    Liked by 1 person

Speak Your Heart...

