Moon Walk

I followed the moon tonight
my guide this humid summer night
splitting my path between the trees
evergreens flanked light dusting streets

I followed the moon tonight
through swaths of blackness
sultry air drifting palatable scents
someone’s dinner inviting comfort

I followed the moon tonight
strolled slowly, no end in sight
each step punctuated the silence
momentary permanence defiant

I followed the moon tonight
it spoke in hushes its secrets
mesmerized my mind with glow
as if I was the only one to know

I followed the moon tonight
until the horizon dipped in height
the trees fell down, Earth shrunk
and I walked straight off the edge

I flew to the moon tonight
called by timeless calm
to stroll moon dust beaches
to learn all the universe’s secrets

I followed the Earth this morning…

 

~ Emily Clapper

8.13.16

15 thoughts on “Moon Walk

Speak Your Heart...

