Message in a Bottle

Message in a bottle
upon a stormy sea
winds blow it to and fro
far away from me

Lingered on the island shore
watched it spin away
wondered when or if
it would ever find its way

To you, on distant land
wherever that may be
my journey home
took a violent turn, you see

Sunk in sand, horizon wide
not a single soul in sight
isolated by fortune’s fickle
twist of fate, my sad plight

Will you even care to find me
should the message find you
or am I useless flotsam jetsam
corpsed in graveyard sea blue?

~ Emily Clapper

8.16.16

40 thoughts on “Message in a Bottle

      1. You know…not sure I’ve heard the word “swot” before. One thing I love about meeting people from other parts of the world. And if I’m correct, you are in Ireland?

        Liked by 1 person

      2. No it is actually a photo by Beaton of the English writer/industrialist Henry Green, a writer that I admire very much and whom I resemble to an extant… But that is a secret… I aim for and achieve obscurity

        Liked by 1 person

      3. Well, I’ll take your word on the shy part, but I’m going to respectfully disagree on the boring part. And mystery in its nature is anything but boring. 😊

        Liked by 1 person

      4. Ah but perhaps your identity is to have non-identity. 😊 I say this because I also tend to shapeshift in my passions and creativity. I think it’s a good way to be. I don’t often know what to tell people I am…often I’m telling them what I do, am certified in, where I’m putting my energy currently.

        Liked by 1 person

      5. I agree and I’m also glad that I am too varied to reply with one answer to what I identify as. And so we are not that different. And yet we are thankfully very different or the world would be boring (read: not mysterious). 😊

        Liked by 1 person

      6. And as mystic cake…you are not one color or shape, I presume. I’m getting fantastic visuals of what kind of magic a slice of mystic cake would present! I feel a poem coming on…

        Liked by 1 person

Speak Your Heart...

