Beacon


the song in my ear, yours

the one you gave to me

the one I sang for you

matched the beacon’s beat

at mountains’ highest height

past ocean’s edge of sight

its light in time pulsed

a ping in cosmic ripples

a message from you to me

I took it and 

I let the shells cut my feet

so my blood would marry the sea

my soul would float away

on silver waves free

that much closer to you

 

~ Emily Clapper

8.22.16

(Photography: Emily Clapper, Puget Sound and Olympic Mountain Range, Seattle 8.22.16)

17 thoughts on “Beacon

  1. Wow, so beautiful. I like the feeling behind it. I think I need to eat breakfast because I read the title as Bacon, lol. I was like, wow, Emily is so versatile! 😋😝

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hehehe! Thanks for the laugh this morning, Vic! And now I’m starving. I could definitely write a love poem about bacon. 🐷 And thanks, I’m so glad you liked this one 🙏🏼😊

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Well, since you’re offering, I’d like to hear what you could do with “Clocks” by Coldplay. It’s my firm belief that Chris Martin sang many songs that could be sung by any of us.

        If that’s not working for you, I bet you could do an awesome cover of “Fine Again” by Seether, as your voice is deep and strong.

        And one of these days, nothing would please me more than doing karaoke with you. Lame as it sounds, “Under the Sea” from Little Mermaid or “Poker Face” by Lady Gaga would be something with you and me on dual mikes in a dive bar.

        Legendary at so many levels.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. I’m quite familiar with playing Clocks on the piano! I’ll have to refresh my memory, but happy to. Karaoke, huh? Hehe. Could be fun! I once blew away a room of people with Whitney’s “I Will Always Love You” but have a hard time with Pink, go figure. 😉

        Liked by 1 person

Speak Your Heart...

