Adrift

Adrift

drowning in salty sea

of tears shed from eyes of me

Floating

far from where I launched

from shore afar in distant land

Flailing

in desperate vain attempts

to understand what’s happened

Asking

why it went the way it did

who I am and how I failed

Sobbing

saline rivers that merge

in ocean of pasts partly submerged

Bobbing

my dizzy head up and down

waves spinning me round and round

Choking

on water sinking my lungs

aspirating it deep, soaking like sponge

Searching

for understanding from you

lost in the rip tide of blackened view

Sinking

to bottom like a rock in a pond

daylight above shrinking to naught

Expiring

my last breath of captured air

goodbye to the world

fair or unfair

~ Emily Clapper

5.26.16

“Adrift” ~ AUDIO voice recording on SoundCloud

(Photo: Emily Clapper, Carkeek Beach, Seattle, WA 5/16)

 

32 thoughts on “Adrift

    1. Thanks, M! I’d rather ups and downs than flat, at least I’m risking life, right? πŸ™‚ Some poems are specific, some poems are general reflections…memories, etc. And some are most definitely fantasy. πŸ˜‰ Hugs back to you! ❀

      Like

  1. Who knew endings could be so poetic ! Very emotional poem Em, love the way you’ve woven the poem around those emotions and feelings, brilliant ! Love your writing and how you experiment with each poem, and lovely photo too, Cheers πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

Speak Your Heart...

