Shipwrecked

We packed our bags late one night
leaving far away to destination out of sight
carrying our hopes and dreams
packed to the brim with love it seemed

That morning we launched our ship from shore
hand in hand we sought out to seek more
ride the waves of destiny’s storm
knew our souls were far different than norm

The weather rocked our searching bow
with moments of death defying shows
the thunder booming above, heavy,
the lightning strikes straight to eyes

Blinded by truth, by love and lies exposed
we shut our eyes in hopes it would go
but nothing could clear the searing images
of what we saw deep in each other’s visages

Burned there by light beyond retina’s capacity
to hold all that we saw and wished to forget
we fumbled to steer our battered ship
grasping with hands that would only slip

At some point the water swamped our deck
we struggled in vain to clear all the wet
for savage waves would only crash harder
leaving pools accumulating up to our necks

Bobbing now in our self-sought sea of despair
we spy land not far – and yet so incredibly far
to get there we must abandon each other
and fight for survival in order to recover

With a blow of a kiss through the ocean mist
the boat began to sink, along with our hearts
we parted ways and aimed for shore
leaving all behind, while hoping for more

With luck we would see each other again
someday, dry and lying on sand under sun
a farewell to what was, we made it this far

and someday to kiss

under far looming star

~ Emily C.

6.2.16

************************

Wow. Trying to collect myself so I can write this last bit…  I have not had a poem affect me this much while writing in a long while. My heart is pounding, and I am choked up near tears. Clearly this feels personal, which I was not anticipating. I’m literally shaking…

This was a poem request topic from Meg, who asked for “Shipwrecked”, literally or figuratively…I think I got both in there. I really hope you like it Meg! I think I needed to write this…  Much love.

Please check out Meg, she is an instant favorite of mine and the sweetest nicest woman.

And if you’d like to suggest a topic for me, by all means, please do. 🙂

(Photo: Emily C., Ocean Shores, WA 2015, yes, I drew the heart in the sand even…)

68 thoughts on “Shipwrecked

  1. Beautiful. Interesting (and a gift) that writing can stir up deep sitting emotions as it does. Glad to hear you are going to your happy place for a walk. I have a little patch of forest with a lake near my home that I go to where all the world sorts itself out when I am there:)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks, A 🙏🏼💜😊 Yeah, a bit jittery here. Got to process on a walk. But, it’s all good, all necessary. Just caught me off guard! Your happy place sounds perfect. My other happy place is a beach near my house…

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I am… totally blown away. So many thoughts running through my head I can’t seem to grab one and hold on… but if I was there with you…you can be sure that I would be holding on to you ((((Hugs)))). Use my shoulder, use my ears…

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Oh Em…I know exactly how that feels. I’ve written several that have had me quietly dripping tears down my face….and one in particular that had me sobbing like a baby. These are pieces of our hearts that we glue to the page…I appreciate you sharing your reaction to your words. It carries through in the piece and certainly in your reading of it. *massive hugs* Love you!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I am blown away… First, that you were so powerfully affected by the idea and yet I’m so sorry it brought you so much pain! Second, the idea arose from my own personal turmoil so I’m very attuned to these words. Love it and you! xo

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Aw, thank you! And it’s all good, Meg! Much needed catharsis! Totally. You inspired something deep and so you get my thanks and credit for the inspiration. I’m so glad it struck a chord. Love you back! 🙏🏼💜😘

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks so much, Rita, I’m still kind of reeling from it myself. Phew! It’s almost such a showstopper emotionally for me that I’m not sure when my next poem will come out…I just need to breathe. But we’ll see, I already hear the next one knocking to come out. Love you 🙏🏼💜

      Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m equally wowed by the reaction it gets…seriously! Thank you. I always disliked hearing my voice so this is something that will take getting used to hearing. 🙏🏼

      Liked by 1 person

  5. This was truly beautiful… your way with words is absolutely phenomenal .
    This had me smiling with an ache of sadness. It relates so much to me at the moment…
    But that may be because I’m in a difficult place right now.

    Thank you for writing something so close to me.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ah, so honored by your words. Thank you for reading it…and sharing your feelings. I’m sorry you’re in a rough place. I’m always here to listen, you know where to find me. Love and hugs, Em ❤

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Reblogged this on Meg Sorick writes (better than she dresses) and commented:
    The other day my friend Emily, talented poet, musician, artist and all around lovely person, asked her readers to suggest ideas for poetry themes. I suggested “shipwreck” and the following is the powerful and emotional poem she wrote based on that prompt. Please enjoy and visit Emily’s blog for more of her inspired and amazing writing!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Wow! I came here upon Meg’s recommendation and boy, was she spot on about your poetry!
    I had my heart pounding harder as I read each verse! This was brilliant. Really glad to find your blog. Someday, I shall make a request with a prompt too 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Ooh, love it!! I am also a universe need, and have several in the vein already I’ll need to show you. Putting galaxy on the list! It will be a few days as I have several in front of you, but I’ll keep you posted when it’s done. Thanks, Rashmi! 🙏🏼💜😊

        Liked by 1 person

  8. I was going to say, this sounds familiar…
    Then I just saw one of the last comments from “Cezane and Michelle” , cute couple, are they friend of yours? :p
    Love your voice Em, as always! 😀

    Like

Speak Your Heart...

