My Lighthouse

I held your hand as we walked in the sand

the waves beat at our feet, the summer heat

bearing down, but the cool breeze released

us from its sear and with each breath of wind

a deep inhale, a sigh, a step forward sinking

bare toes leaving footprints forward, the land

a clean slate, no one else before to follow

we walked our own path this day, this now

the Sun seemed to guide us out of the past

with certainty of peace and hope on the horizon

lighter with each stride, weight of each burden

flying off like kites in the wind, disintegrating in tide

cleansed of cares, the only feeling was your hand

cradling mine, assuring, calm, unwavering warmth

steadfast and true, I knew I would never lose you

not after all this, after all this time, after everything

and while the ocean glittered diamonds in my eyes

it could not compare to the light you emanate

from your soul, my homecoming, my beacon

my lighthouse in the palm of my hand

 

~ E

7.24.16

13 thoughts on “My Lighthouse

  1. I recommend to put firsts 2 or 3 verses in the except because the auto except cut the paragraphs and so the verses does not look like verses in the preview.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. πŸ™ŒπŸΌπŸ‘ŠπŸ»βœ‹πŸΌ Right back at yah, X 😊 I love lighthouses, too. Damn…there’s no lighthouse emoji. Well…I’ll just have to send you a pic.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Thanks! Probably because as a personal trainer I’ve had to give my share. But, I prefer to give them to other awesome high-fivers like yourself. πŸ™‚ And refresh my main page to see my header pic. It was my first header image for my blog. It’s of a lighthouse by the ferry dock in Mukilteo that goes to Whidbey Island. I took the picture, of course. πŸ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

Speak Your Heart...

