Dark Day

being followed as I walked
dark day, dark thoughts
gravel path of purgatory
crunch of bones underfoot

dare not glance behind
should I see someone there
tracing my every move
feel their tractor beam glare

onward toward destiny’s gate
upon weary shoulders, sins
shuffle quick, do not hesitate
a life thus ferociously lived

whence my companions came
I know not, swore I left behind
instinct cocked my head the same
and saw ’twas leaves the whole time

the bones mere rocks
the gate an arbor

my hell elusive

the day

longer

~ E

11.18.16

5 thoughts on “Dark Day

Speak Your Heart...

