Pictureless Frame

A pictureless picture frame
on a windowless wall
cocked at an angle
where it used to tell all

Smileless faces 
of woebegone years
frozen in time
captured in
black and white past

and past inhabitants
in time 
discarded
with the morning’s trash

Forgotten by rememberers
who also have passed
replaced by color
new faces a-smile
temporary snapshots
in a rectangle of glass

Years yearn forward
leaving dusty trails
cobwebbed history
cloaking present 
with webs

In a house built on life
for life it was used
held in a frame
until people deceased

And out came the spiders
to claim their new space
on a pictureless picture frame

where ghosts
haunt in spades

~ EC

8.23.16

21 thoughts on “Pictureless Frame

      1. Haha, not terrible. I enjoy exploring your work. And I wouldn’t know what I’ve missed already unless you tell me. Plus…maybe I’ll send you to some of mine you haven’t seen yet. 😉 If you like, of course.

        Liked by 1 person

    1. I have not seen that! I wonder where I can find it. I was inspired by an old frame I found in the corner of the laundry room today. I may try to take a picture of it and update the post. It got me thinking. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Of course I have done a post on it, I will send you the link it has mock Jagger and James fox in it. The hermit rock star buys picture frames which he keeps on a closet…I won’t tell you anymore because it features in the ending

        Liked by 1 person

  1. Hello Emily,

    The story this poem tells, and quiet clearly, is haunting. Beautifully written. You do write incredible poetry. So… 🙂 we recently added Poetry as a Category for our Cinderella Anthology Project and I’m wondering if you’d like to honor this project with your participation. I do believe that you will write an amazing Cinderella poem. It doesn’t have to be according to the classic. If it intrigues you a bit and the interest is there, do please check out the guidelines.

    https://ithinkisayido.wordpress.com/2017/01/04/invitation-write-your-own-cinderella-story/

    Thank you for your beautiful poetry.

    Love and hugs
    Anne
    xxx

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Anne! Well, thank you so much. Those are kind words! Always grateful to hear how what I write affects people. And thank you for thinking of me for Cinderella. I will definitely consider it. I think it sounds like fun! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Oh yay! I swear I will burst form excitement soon. 🙂 I’m happy to hear that. It is actually quite fun because we can do sooo much. I’m looking forward to this… and reading more of your work. And Em, you’re not confined to poetry. I love your poetry and you do write them exceptionally well but what’s nice about this project is you get to experiment on other formats. 🙂 Fun and exciting! Hugs xxx

        Liked by 1 person

Speak Your Heart...

