Origami Heart

Strung high on crystalline lines
along the heavens’ reach of sky
origami hearts folded with love
crisply dangle over land above

like prayer flags of the soaring soul
gently move when the winds blow
of passion amongst the air we breathe
a sigh or gasp can set them free

the soft brush of paper on paper
as the fragile hearts touch each other
like laundry on a warm spring day
out to dry the salty tears away

over time the hearts fade red to pink
splotched by raindrops from angels’ eyes
frayed at the edges from blustery days
and torn right in half by love gone astray

mine hangs on by a dainty thread
too much wind has made it dead
to fall with haste its deepest wish

to disintegrateΒ until last fiber of me
v
a
n
i
s
h
e
s

~ EC

5.30.16

 

 

 

38 thoughts on “Origami Heart

      1. You’re welcome. I used to get pissed when I read things like this by others, jealous shit that I am, wishing that I had written it first! But in my dotage, I seem to have gained the wisdom necessary to recognize and celebrate another’s gifts! πŸ™‚

        Liked by 2 people

      2. You just got a real life giggle out of me. πŸ˜‰ I understand the sentiment, I’ve had those moments. There’s a ton of talent out there and sometimes they make it seem so obvious what we have been longing to say but haven’t said yet, and then we read their words and there it is. But, it’s what makes us all unique and to come here and share it, means we all benefit! Thanks again, truly. ❀

        Liked by 1 person

  1. “the soft brush of paper on paper
    as the fragile hearts touch each other
    like laundry on a warm spring day
    out to dry the salty tears away”

    THIS! oh how I love this! ❀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks, M πŸ™πŸΌ I barely squeaked out a voice…that’s my sick voice, so I’m lucky I could record anything, ha! I’m touched by your words. 😊 And I can make that dream come true, anytime.

      Liked by 1 person

    2. The poem should also be viewed on my actual page, not through the reader, as the word “vanish” is in shades of red that only show up on my page. Maybe you saw that, though. 😊

      Liked by 1 person

  2. This is a powerful poem. Describing hearts as orgami hearts really speaks about how fragile hearts are as they wear and are hurt over time. The good thing is though they might be fragile, hearts do heal with time. You and your heart don’t need to disintegrate, you need only wait. Something better is already behind the next corner πŸ™‚

    Also, nominated you for a blogging award. It’s up to you if you participate or not. Cheers.
    https://mandibelle16.wordpress.com/2016/05/31/award-epically-awesome-award/

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, Mandi! Such a positive soul. You are right. For the spirit of this poem, it did need to disintegrate. But in another, it will rise. πŸ˜‰ And thanks, I will look it over ❀

      Liked by 1 person

Speak Your Heart...

