Precipice

Mountains behind gray,
I know you are there,
I feel your weight
in my heart stripped bare.

I sense your peace
roaring passionate
– feel it echoing, feel it deep,
across ocean it resonates.

Mountains dusted white,
each morning on my way,
you see me put up a fight
for a smile to rise today.

Steady stance, looming
through time indefinite,
strength, courage ricocheting
back to my own sore spirit.

Mountains above gloom,
shaken by man’s failure,
yet anchored forever firm
— I look to you for comfort.

Teach me how to root myself
unwavering in my hope,

lend me a rocky precipice,
my future’s light, to scope.

~ EC

1.30.17

11 thoughts on “Precipice

Speak Your Heart...

