Lanterns

lanterns lit the sand washed wood
of the dock by the shifting shore

at twilight the fireflies lit messages
speckled spacetime in twinkling lore

from where I was I saw you
walking with your demons arm in arm

to the conversation I was not privy
seems the waves the audience more

as they kissed your dragging feet
the demons and the waves, both

I sipped my sun tea sweet
pondered to stay or to go

while moon rose o’er tempered sea
I let time determine our destiny

your hair blended into the horizon
and I could not ascertain

whether this longing heart was broken

or rather longing for the sea instead

~ EC

27 thoughts on “Lanterns

Speak Your Heart...

