Trapped

When is enough enough?

when will I find the strength

to break free

to stop trying

to sever ties

that should never have been

tied

when will I listen

to my own internal

SCREAMING

to my body’s pain

to the parts of me that say

I fucking can’t any more…

no more of this

toxic-ness

when it seems

I’m the only one

willing to grow

to deepen

to change

and nothing I do

nothing I offer

nothing is heard,

you bask in your

unconsciousness

— and I,

am too conscious

and all too aware

I am trapped.

~ Em C

2.10.17

17 thoughts on “Trapped

      1. It’s true. There’s a part in Annie Hall where Woody Allen tries to describe relationships:

        “It reminds me of that old joke- you know, a guy walks into a psychiatrist’s office and says, hey doc, my brother’s crazy! He thinks he’s a chicken. Then the doc says, why don’t you turn him in? Then the guy says, I would but I need the eggs. I guess that’s how I feel about relationships. They’re totally crazy, irrational, and absurd, but we keep going through it because we need the eggs.”

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Yes…great description! At some point we have to confront the discomfort of change and for many that is a huge hurdle. It reminds me of the quote by Anais Nin: “And the day came when the risk to remain tight in a bud was more painful than the risk it took to blossom.”

        Liked by 2 people

      3. Yes, very much. Your posts lately have caused me to go into rabbit holes as of late. I almost bought another dog and joined a yoga class earlier this week, and now I can’t stop listening to “Trapped” by Springsteen. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  1. This was precisely the feeling I experienced many years ago and it took all my strength and braveness to end my first marriage. Almost 13 year now, since I re-married my true soulmate; a relationship were we both are able to stay true to ourselves and honest together. So, I recommend anyone in this type of situation; listen to your internal. Well done, Em, well done.
    XxX

    Liked by 1 person

Speak Your Heart...

