Comes and Goes (In Waves)

This is one of those songs that comes on and you don’t know who it is, but you sing along every time. 😀 So, finally, I learned it.

It’s also one of those songs you swore was kinda “recent” only to discover it’s like 5 years old and now you feel extra old.

This is for all those who have ever been unsure if they can risk their heart again. That’s probably all of us.

Comes and Goes (In Waves) ~ Greg Laswell

This one’s for the lonely
The ones that seek and find
Only to be let down
Time after time
This one’s for the torn down
The experts at the fall
Come on friends get up now
You’re not alone at all
And this part was for her
And this part was for her
This part was for her
Does she remember?
It comes and goes and waves
I
This one’s for the faithless
The ones that are surprised
They’re only where they are now
Regardless of their fight
This one’s for believing
If only for its sake
Come on friends get up now
Love is to be made
And this part was for her
And this part was for her
This part was for her
Does she remember?
It comes and goes in waves
I,
Am only led to wonder why
It comes in goes in waves
I,
Am only led to wonder why
Why I try
This is for the ones who stand
For the ones who try again
For the ones who need a hand
For the ones that think they can
It comes in waves
I,
Am only led to wonder why
It comes and goes in waves
I,
Am only led to wonder why
Why I try
12 thoughts on “Comes and Goes (In Waves)

  1. Your taste in music is so good! With all the kids and ex-wives, my time is taken up by parent-teacher conferences, the orthodontist, court dates, the dentist, wellness checks, shots, soccer, wrestling, basketball, football, debate club, raising alimony and child support through questionable means, and on and on and on.

    It’s a great comfort to know that while all this madness is going on, my friend Em is out there cranking out melodic awesomeness to share with the world. It’s always a carefully curated collection of something worth listening too. Thank you, amica mia!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much, Finnegan! I’m so grateful there are people who indulge me in listening to my music. You rock. I am honored you are able to at all, with all that you are juggling! Really glad you approve of my taste, also. 🙏🏼💜

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Your music and videos create a connection. It’s the rug, and your hands, and the instrument, and that voice. It makes me think of all the times we’d go out back in the day, go to the plasma center and get our $10-20 for our donation, and throw our loot in a common pot. We’d run to Giant Eagle, and get a couple jugs of Gallo wine, some snacks, and go back to our place. Someone would bring out a guitar, and we’d sing along to CSNY, Johnny Cash, Simon and Garfunkel, The Animals, whatever was being played. You have style, that’s for sure!

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Thank you, I missed that on the first go-around. You and your harmonium rock. That’s such an eternal rendition.

        And as for an autobiography, it’s out there and growing. Disjointed, disreputable, disingenuous, incomplete, and misleading. But for all to see.

        Liked by 1 person

      3. Thanks, Finnegan. I do play piano, too…but that takes longer to master than my attention can handle when I need to belt something for a recording. 🙂 And it’s out there, huh? How did I miss it? Well, at least you are up front! 😀 I’m sure it’s an engaging read.

        Liked by 1 person

Speak Your Heart...

