One Year! Thank you.

Today, February 23rd is my one year anniversary of putting my poetry on WordPress.  I remember it clearly.  On whim, I had shared a few of my poems I had lying around with an accomplished writer/screenwriter I had become acquainted with.  His reaction to my words and my poetry encouraged me to create a WordPress page.

Originally, I had a handful…maybe 5-10 poems I had written years prior and had stored in random places, like the drafts of emails, on paper, in notebooks. My only intention with WordPress was to store my scant words in one easy to find place, maybe write another now and then, but that was all I expected.

Admitting my own naiveté here: while I knew people could find your blog and follow, I really had no idea about how many. Experience with another blog I had which I didn’t nurture nearly enough, said that I might have 1 comment every few months.  So, when I saw that little red dot icon lighting up increasingly as I posted more and more, I was confused. It took me a while to figure out that people…a lot of people were finding me. Just having one follower, one comment, one like was a big deal for me.

Now, after one year, nearly 46,000 hits, 15,000 comments, nearly 900 posts, nearly 800 organic followers, a batch of loyal friends, and the value of knowing that what I write impacts people…here I am…still writing when I swore I’d give up more than once.

Several of you have been here through it all. And you know this year has beaten me up pretty badly.  I don’t write about it all.  I am still crawling back, but doing relatively better overall. A ways to go to stabilize but definitely seeing progress. It has meant cutting way back, isolating, avoiding stressful triggers, turning off texts, going it alone and taking a lot of space from loved ones and friends, as much as necessary to heal emotionally and physically, which has had to be fairly drastic space. The ones who truly love me understand and are patient and there when I need them. I can’t say how much that means to me.

And to you, the ones I meet in the ether where we share words, my safe space, my neutral haven…thank you. I have been through the gamut here in more ways than one. I have learned so much, about myself, my heart, how I share it, how to care for it, how to keep it safe, what I can risk and what I cannot.  There have been laughs and tears, deep reflection and expression.  Not to mention being blown away daily by your immense talent, inspired by your works of art every time I open the reader. Thank you for the gifts you share with the world. My only regret is not being able to keep up with all of you all of the time.

I don’t know what the future holds. There will be times I need to step back and breathe. I hope I keep going in some form or other. And as I have said from the beginning, if I publish, it will be to honor my father and dedicated to him and his impact in my life. I don’t anticipate making a living on my writing, but if it goes that direction, I will be grateful for what my words give back, to me, to the world, in whatever small or big ways they may be.

Happy Anniversary to my page, and to my readers without whom I’d have no idea if this poetry thing was working or not.

Love and Light,

Emily

69 thoughts on “One Year! Thank you.

  1. It’s already the 23rd here in Cape Town so I can officially wish you a Happy Anniversary 🙂

    Your rate of output has been phenomenal and your bravery in terms of being so candid with your thoughts is inspiring. It’s great to hear that having this outlet has been a positive experience for you and I hope the year to come will be a continuation of that.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Happy anniversary, Em! You’ve written prolifically in a one year span! Inspiration and imagination and highs and lows and everything in between… It’s been a pleasure reading and becoming your friend. ❤ Wishing you the very best going forward with every endeavor and challenge you undertake!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, Devereaux! I’m so sorry, I only just saw this comment when I checked my spam folder. I don’t know why it was sent there! I appreciate all your support! And I’m honored to be considered an inspiration. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Will do! Yeah…it’s been a surreal experience, that’s for sure. Certainly thought I was just gonna put things here in a black hole, but damn it if the universe decided to surprise me. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Well thank you! That, too, was a surprise. I thought there was no way I could sustain it. But, here I am. It helps to have people expecting to see your work every day, and interact with it so enthusiastically. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

Speak Your Heart...

