Shallow Grave

woke up supine in the forest pine
disoriented dizzy drunk…
how I got there, no memory
who I was or where
naked, cold
shuddering soul
lost far from home
but even that, now unknown
human form muddy, caked by decay
matted hair in waves of clay
maggots had made their home
on me, expediting fate of death
their fee, I saw my grave
that you must have dug
…if I could remember you
but no, not, never
in my mind
past your prime
my sense of love distorted
by years of heart callously contorted
handed out for dissection, consumption
by souls seeking destruction
little did I know my freeness
would seal my fate
trust betrayed
heart slain by hunters’ raid
pillaged in an extravagant display
where you were starring in your own play
I was there for your entertainment
when you were bored
but I must have
finally said no more
for here I am on forest floor
bloodied from the swing of mace
bones broken from a forgotten fight
but eyes open to arboretum’s canopy light
lost and languishing in love’s banishment
no name, no identity, erased for all eternity
but a survivor, free to start over
would I, could I
find my way
again?

I lick my wounds

and head east…

~ Emily C.

6/27/16

22 thoughts on “Shallow Grave

  1. Sounds as if she was used and abused quite awfully. Hidden away in a grave murdered, because he was no longer interested. But it makes me smile in the end, though her heart and body be half-dead she keeps going heading “west” moving on to better things. Or perhaps she goes to a better place as the sun sets I the west. Well written and great imagery.

    Liked by 1 person

Speak Your Heart...

