Afraid of Everyone

My poet friend, S. Francis of Sailor Poet, introduced me to this song by The National recently. I looked it up on YouTube and watched them perform it on Letterman some years ago, and what do I see first? One of the band members playing…harmonium! It was the first time I’ve ever seen a harmonium used in popular music, aside from my own experimenting. Pretty damn cool.

Hope you like my version. 🙂

And do check out their performance posted below, and see the harmonium in action on late night television.  And and…also pay a visit to Sailor Poet for some great poetry on his unique page.

Thanks!

~ Em

 

 

Then I’m radio and then I’m television
I’m afraid of everyone, I’m afraid of everyone
Lay the young blue bodies, with the old red violets
I’m afraid of everyone, I’m afraid of everyone
With my kid on my shoulders I try
Not to hurt anybody I like
But I don’t have the drugs to sort,
I don’t have the drugs to sort it out, sort it out

I defend my family with my orange umbrella
I’m afraid of everyone, I’m afraid of everyone
With my shiny new star spangled tennis shoes on
I’m afraid of everyone, I’m afraid of everyone
With my kid on my shoulders I try
Not to hurt anybody I like
But I don’t have the drugs to sort,
I don’t have the drugs to sort it out, sort it out
I don’t have the drugs to sort it, sort it out, sort it out

You’re the voice that’s swallowing my soul, soul, soul
You’re the voice that’s swallowing my soul, soul, soul
You’re the voice that’s swallowing my soul, soul, soul
You’re the voice that’s swallowing my soul, soul, soul
You’re the voice that’s swallowing my soul, soul, soul
You’re the voice that’s swallowing my soul, soul, soul
Soul soul soul soul soul
You’re the voice that’s swallowing my soul, soul, soul
Soul soul soul soul soul
You’re the voice that’s swallowing my soul, soul, soul
Soul soul soul soul soul
You’re the voice that’s swallowing my soul, soul, soul
Soul soul soul soul soul

12 thoughts on “Afraid of Everyone

Speak Your Heart...

