Bonny Portmore

This one is a surprise for a friend, she’s expecting a songย from me (does that negate the surprise? Hm). One of my favorite Irish traditional folk songs. I am trying to do my best Loreena McKennitt impression. I hope it passes. ๐Ÿ™‚

This song has an interesting history. As you can read a little here, “it laments the demise of Ireland’s old oak forests,ย specifically theย Great Oak of Portmoreย or theย Portmore Ornament Tree, which fell in a windstorm in 1760 and was subsequently used forย shipbuildingย and other purposes.” [Wikipedia]

It’s a beautiful song. And the harmonium is perfect here as it does a great job of its own impression, that of a bagpipe. I could almost see myself there in Ireland. Someday.

So this is dedicated to my friend, and all my other friends who identify with this song, or Ireland, or Loreena — and it’s dedicated to our planet who needs us now more than ever.

Em

โค

28 thoughts on “Bonny Portmore

  1. Nice!! The Irish blame the English for everything, including the fact that there aren’t many dense forests left. So somehow I imagine they caused the wind storm in 1760! I fly over tomorrow! โ˜˜๏ธ

    Liked by 1 person

      1. It’s a 50/50 possibility. There is a bus strike currently which will restrict my movement and I will be on the West coast whereas he’s on the east. We shall see if obstacles can be overcome but I’m not hopeful!

        Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks, Mr. Cake. And that is something I don’t know much about, but Meg has commented on England being blamed for everything. It is not part of the European History I minored in, but I am interested in Irish politics. I even took an entire semester on the subject. Studied Sinn Fein and the IRA a fair amount. I’m watching the current happenings over there with interest.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Omg….yes…I did miss that. I don’t know how but damn!!! Of course I love it…you know I would. It’s wonderful. Those stories live in my heart. But you know that already. ๐Ÿ’™๐Ÿ’™๐Ÿ’™ thank you for pointing it out.

        Goodnight, Beautiful Lady. ๐Ÿ’™

        Liked by 1 person

Speak Your Heart...

