Everyone Goes

Here I am
again.
Take what you need.
You must need it
more than me.
More than my fight
for it to keep.

The truth is
everyone goes.

You will go,
too,
I know.

Do I smile anyway?
Dare a laugh escape?

Do I want what you give,
If you take it away?

I will go,
I know.

The truth is…
everyone goes.

If not body,
spirit.
If not spirit,
body.

Do I risk it anyway?
Do I give, do I take?

You will go.
You will go,
as I stay.

I always stay.

I always fucking

stay,

until beat,
or left.

The truth is…
everyone goes.

 

~ Emily C.

4.10.17

29 thoughts on “Everyone Goes

  1. The hopeless romantic who knows all too well but goes down that same path for the fleeting moments before they leave.
    Some of us go towards hope and some people leech before moving onto the next.

    Fantastic piece, the tragic build, the ease at how it touches the reader.
    Everyone goes…. and you always go to a special place with your words ❀

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Thanks for the thought, C. I’m okay. I just tend to keep an open heart and am fiercely loyal, sometimes to a fault, when others aren’t. So it’s not natural for me to shut down when sometimes it would be the smart thing. Always the last one standing. A fighter for better or worse. 😊

        Liked by 2 people

  2. You just described a really natural mentality that everyone feels once in while but ya sometimes we do want someone to stay but like you said everyone goes.

    Liked by 1 person

Speak Your Heart...

