As Rogue Tulips

spring fields at seasonโ€™s birth
roar with the winds only heard
in ear canals
and two or three trees randomly clustered

isolated, they scream
who knew branches can be so loud?
like lions on the bluff they bellow
unable to break the valley gusts
between mountains and sea

(they settle
for chaos because calm comes

eventually)

a horizon dark, backlit by light
pushed forward toward raging puddles
where tiny ships must be sinking
their SOS unheard, we leap

we watch our wandering feet,
sponge underfoot cushions

precariously.

step over clay-cracked puzzles,
pieces that once removed,
may just open the gaping chasm

and draw us down
so we grow back
as rogue tulips:

red

in a field of white.

 

~ Emily C.

4.14.17

*Photography by me. Spent the day at the Skagit Valley tulip festival yesterday.

35 thoughts on “As Rogue Tulips

      1. Aren’t they amazing? This is Roozengaarde. Largest bulb producer in the world at 1000 acres. You can order bulbs at their page tulips.com. I may just do that sometime because their variety is wonderful. ๐ŸŒท

        Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you for the great feedback, Alisa. Appreciate it! ๐Ÿ™‚ Yes, it was a great field trip in person, for sure. Glad I could bring you along! Probably only a couple hours south of you across the border if you want to see them, too. ๐Ÿ˜‰

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I don’t get out much these days so I appreciated the outing lol. Funny you say that as when I looked at the pictures I was reminded that it is one of those things I have always wanted to do/see. I will put it on my list:) Passport just arrived last week too!

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Haha, yes. I feel like I’m just emerging from my own hibernation myself. ๐Ÿ™‚ And that’s great! Well, the tulip festival goes through the end of April, if you are so inspired. Mount Vernon is a cute little town with some fun shops and cafes, too.

        Liked by 1 person

  1. Really beautiful pictures, what a wonderful day trip – always good to be inspired… I love this sequence:

    step over clay-cracked puzzles,
    pieces that once removed,
    may just open the gaping chasm

    and draw us down
    so we grow back
    as rogue tulips:

    red

    in a field of white.

    growing back as rogue tulips, as if filling a gap in a puzzle of monet – a puzzle piece lost before now found… wonderful!

    Liked by 1 person

Speak Your Heart...

