Chasms

As night looms I make a wish

That our two halves of the earth

Will draw together by love’s sheer force

A gravity of wills that suffers no detours

But pulls your east to my west

And lands my head upon your chest

To hear your heartbeat crystal clear

Not imagined in my bedroom afar

For what is worse than cold ocean’s distance

Than hearing your voice without the touch

I’d swim a million miles to hold you

To be held in arms that won’t let go

No parting of the land can stand

To tear us apart once we attract

I knew the moment I saw your words

The moment I heard your couplets

I would jump hemispheric chasms

Just to hear you breathe my name

~ Emily C.

4.27.17

20 thoughts on “Chasms

  1. Ohh, that’s amazing. And there is something about the way a lover says your name, isn’t there? Beautiful. ❀️

    Like

  2. Well, hello, Em. Life has kept me from keeping up with this writing community this week. Walking back into the cafe, if you will, this morning feeling Saturday’s relief of not having to be anywhere, I read this poem first.

    And I smiled. Very big. There is something about this poem that touches me deeply. I wish you would add it to your soundcloud poems!

    Today is going to be a good day. Thank you.

    Liked by 1 person

Speak Your Heart...

