Like Father, Like Daughter

I feel like crying.

Some of you know my father is a retired professor of English at both the University of Washington, and a private high school for 30 plus years.  You may also know that I was named after Emily Dickinson.  You may also know, while I’ve always enjoyed writing, I only started writing poetry seriously about a year ago. (I have not taken poetry classes, and while I know a few famous poems and poets here and there, I have not deeply studied any poetry until recent months.)

Occasionally, I share a poem on FB.  Well, just now my dad messages me the following (and he NEVER messages me on FB):

“I have been really enjoying your poetry and photography. You have an eye, and an ear, and they give a depth and seriousness to your work. You are a true talent.

I think almost all your poems have a moment of genius, and that is pretty rare.  So I am not surprised that your readership is rising steadily. The funny thing is that I am not an unbiased reader! So you have to take my appreciation with a grain of salt, since what I see is colored by the fact that I love you as your father.

I try to make all my comments the product of my years of teaching and reading.”

And he’s only seen a handful.  This is my motivation to publish, for him.

And after all of the trauma of this year, his cancer and subsequent broken back which he is still recovering from, and my brother’s health crises…along with my health recovery, well, a little light is necessary for survival.

I have not heard back from the Poet Laureate yet, but this is a much better gift. The best of all.

 

 

35 thoughts on “Like Father, Like Daughter

  1. Oh Emily, I feel like crying too! I am so glad you shared this. I knew things had been challenging but I didn’t realise just how much. This is really beautiful. And biased or not, you absolutely deserve the praise he gave on your skill.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ah, thanks so much, Vanessa. 🙏🏼 Yes…it’s been a year to say the least! He caught me by surprise, as he never messages me through FB, so naturally I was expecting bad news…so what a relief. 💜😊

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Em, you have gotten one of life’s greatest rewards; perhaps the most powerful thing. Thank you for sharing this. Your readership grows because of your great writing and your genuine humanity and kind soul. I think clearly you are like your dad for more than poetry, but for the kindness and gentleness he offers with these words. A proud father of his daughter beautiful inside and out. Just wonderful. These are the stories that make the Cafe such a marvelous place.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Very kind of you, S! Thank you for such nice comments. I’m a lucky daughter, and am honored by his words, father/professor or no. I appreciate always your visits and support!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I’m doing well, thank you. Back and neck pretty much all better, but now I’m just lazy from laying around all day, drinking and binge-watching Game of Thrones. Just trying to get back into the swing of writing.

        You’re doing well, I trust?

        Liked by 1 person

      2. I’m glad to hear you’re improving. I never made it past season one of GOT…but I hear everyone basically dies. I’m definitely doing better than I was but still have some ways to go before I’m my normal self again. At least the sun has finally decided to show up over here! We broke recorded history with 4 feet of rain this winter. 😳 Take care of yourself, F, and no more falling. 💜

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Fabulous! I’m trying to be VERY careful with who I follow (so as not to be overwhelmed by the reading)- but your Dad’s referral makes it hard not to. Best wishes with your journey!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Happened to come across this blog while looking for other poets to connect with on here. I just wanted to say that while I’m new to your blog and have never read your material before, I will now and looking at your pieces, can tell you your writing is amazing. This piece really touched me and I wish all the best for you. So pleased to hear that from your father, and he’s absolutely right! I can only imagine how happy you must be to hear that comment from him! 🙂

    Looking forward to reading more from you.

    Stay strong 💜
    Angie

    Liked by 1 person

Speak Your Heart...

