We, temporary

Divided by hot, by cold
by invisible lines
by present future

Zeus oversees with a bolting staff
a stab in Olympus’ bare back
electrifying his kingdom’s sky

we watch
we wow 
we sense
the shock

a power humanity
will never possess
unless dreams, unless
actors in plays

we weaklings
we flesh
we, beckoning death

our paltry specks
our accidental
existence

the gods
the goddesses
outlast time

we?
wander
we, temporary
here and gone
world goes on
gods roaring

gawking eyes see

yet see nothing
in the end
but mortality

~ Emily C.

5.4.17

*All photos of today’s thunderstorms in Seattle, all mine except the last. Today was a show of nature, I stormchased and caught a bolt of lightning. 🙂

 

7 thoughts on “We, temporary

  1. So, as you know, I am a fan. And, I dig your harmonium stuff… but when I read these lines:
    we watch
    we wow
    we sense
    the shock
    There was a rhythm to them that made me think you should turn this one into a song.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Well, thank you, kindly. Yes, I’ve been pondering writing my first song, but don’t really know how to start. Hopefully, sometime this year I’ll say I am a songwriter. ☺️

      Liked by 1 person

  2. This is so very powerful, Emily. The pictures reinforce the words. I can’t help but think about all the times we humans decide we are so important to the working of the universe. Stunning! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

Speak Your Heart...

